What are the Maximum Penalties in California for Vehicular Manslaughter?
Being charged with vehicular manslaughter, also known as Penal Code 192(c), is a serious ordeal. It is defined as negligently injuring or causing the death of another person while driving a motor vehicle. Due to the seriousness surrounding this crime, it’s not a surprise that many are curious regarding the consequences if proven guilty of vehicular manslaughter.
What are the Consequences if Charged?
How extensive of penalties you receive for vehicular manslaughter partially depends on whether you’ve acted with ordinary negligence or gross negligence. The former includes a maximum sentence of one year in country jail. Meanwhile, the latter can be charged as either a misdemeanor (one year in county jail) or as a felony (up to six years in state prison).
Other factors, such as if you were intoxicated during the event and/or if the person you struck passed away following the event, can additionally increase the charges you receive.
If you were intoxicated at the time that you committed gross vehicular manslaughter, the maximum charge would be 10 years in state prison – or up to 4 years in state prison if you were intoxicated without gross negligence.
And if the individual you hit with your vehicle died, and your situation ends up being deemed a felony in court, you can be charged with:
- 25 years to life in state prison – 1st degree murder, or
- 15 years to life in state prison – 2nd degree murder
Legal Defenses for Vehicular Manslaughter
Vehicular manslaughter cases can be tricky, which is why it’s critical to have the right attorney on your side to ensure you get fair treatment in the courtroom. If you require defense to get your charges lessened or even completely dismissed, Lisa Mattern at the Mattern Law Firm in Los Angeles is your go-to gal.
So, what can Ms. Mattern do to help? It’s all about providing the right evidence. From proving that you weren’t intoxicated at the time you committed vehicular manslaughter, to arguing that you did not act with gross negligence, to providing evidence that you weren’t the individual driving the vehicle when the crime was committed, there’s a handful of things she can do to rest your case.
Even if she is unable to get your charges completely erased, by representing you in court, she can significantly increase the chances that your charges can at least be reduced based on the newly represented information.
If you’ve been convicted of vehicular manslaughter in the state of California, call the Mattern Law Firm now at 310-342-8254 to find out about your next steps.